An echidna in my garden

It’s early summer now, and the birds and other animals are active in my garden. One of the nice things about living near a national park is that the local inhabitants sometimes come for a visit. Echidnas have been visiting my garden ever since I came to live here, in the eastern outer fringe of Melbourne.

This echidna was rather unafraid of my presence as I took its picture. Although its eyesight is poor, it definitely can hear and smell me. At one point it walked past my foot a few centimetres away, so close I could have reached out to pat it. I didn’t – do you see those spines?

I made a short movie of it as it ambled around my garden. See it here.

151209-05

Eddie the echidna. I tend to call all echidnas that visit my garden Eddie… To see a larger image click on the picture.

Leave a Reply

