Ringtail possum

A very acrobatic ringtail possum.

A very acrobatic ringtail possum.

Last year I noticed a mother ringtail possum and her 2 kids using the balcony of my house as a walkway to get to the nearest trees. They were not living in my house at that time. For a while after that I lost sight of these possums.

Last night, while I was looking out of my kitchen window, a ringtail possum walked across the window sill carrying what looked like nest-building materials wrapped in its prehensile tail. Ringtail possums are almost never found nesting in houses – they much prefer trees, so I was curious.

Next morning, I went outside and examined the walls of my house, especially the space between the top of the wall and the roof. Sure enough, there is a possum nest on top of one wall. I took out the ladder and climbed up to have a better look. There were 2 possums living in it, possibly the juveniles I saw last year. Evidently they have decided the rolled up plastic lattices I put up to prevent blackbirds from nesting there make an ideal possum nest.

You can go here to see more pictures of these cute, furry animals.

One thought on “Ringtail possum

  1. Pingback: The tail continues… | Living Naturally

Leave a Reply

